Sautéed Vegetables with a Poached Egg

I was really never a breakfast person, until I discovered poached eggs. Now I eat them at least 3 times a week for breakfast with whatever else I happen to have in the fridge. I’ve always got a different array of vegetables at my house, and this really works with whatever you have on hand, so feel free to change up any of the veg! By the way, studies have shown, people that eat eggs for breakfast stay fuller longer, keeping them from overindulging throughout the day!

Ingredients : 

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup mixed greens
  • 1/4 onion ( I used red)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2-4 mushrooms
  • 5 cherry/grape tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 scallion
  • 1 tbsp goat cheese
  • Salt + pepper to taste

Equpiment :

  • Sauté pan
  • Small pot
  • Cutting board
  • Knife

Fill up your small pot 2/3 the way full with water and put on high heat until it comes to a boil. Poach your egg (technique is posted in the Salmon + Grapefruit Salad recipe).

Chop your onion first and throw it into your sauté pan with the tbsp of oil over medium high heat. Then add the mushrooms, tomatoes, and garlic. Add salt + pepper to taste. Last add your greens until just wilted. Plate and top with poached egg, chopped scallions, and sprinkle with goat cheese.

IMG_1072

Xx

 

2 thoughts on “Sautéed Vegetables with a Poached Egg

  1. Did my first poached eggs today and I loved them sooo much! And a dish inspired and part of copied by this, my new favourite meal 🙂 Looove to you!

Leave a Reply

